Confessions

Let’s talk Scary Mommy Confessions. First of all, if you are reading this and do not have kids yet, thinking about having kids, not sure about having kids.. I would go with not reading Scary Mommy Confessions.

I started reading them when I stumbled across them while nursing my son probably a year ago. There are some funny ones. Some positive ones. But mostly, they are scary sad confessions.

I get why they are anonymous and it makes me wish I could HUG every single sad mom out there! And just listen to her. I just want to listen, and let her cry and nod sympathetically and let her get it out of her system, in real life, with real eyes looking back with compassion.

It is said, that mothers are like the sun. The sun of the family. No matter what, her attitude should be the brightest to help brighten the lives of everyone she loves.

Sometimes, the confessions are on the comparing ends of things. Other peoples partners, other peoples kids, other peoples days, job, no job etc. Comparing is evil. It is self destructive.

If mothers are the sun, comparing is a literally a giant rain cloud that everyone notices, everyone picks up on it, everyone feels it, everyone reflects it and the cycle continues. Please stop comparing.

You are loving your kids the best you can and that looks so different for every single mom and parent, no matter how similar some situations may look at first glance.

It can be the most difficult thing to accept our own individual circumstance. Not only accept it, but then to also be happy about it!

12795533_980132528737771_5263234654869348234_n

I love this quote from SGI President Daisaku Ikeda. “The plum is happiest when it blooms as itself in full glory.” Right where the plum is, it grows into the best version of itself. That is all it can do. To even think of being something else, would only cause it suffering.

You are who you are where you are when you are.

By embracing all that is around you, all that makes up your life right now, only opens you up for opportunity to grow and be happy.

Once that happens, it is amazing to look back and see how everything happened for a reason, even the times that you were at your lowest and unhappiest.

For a long time, I was that miserable person. After I graduated from Art school, I stayed working in my retail job, I was promoted and once your promoted, you are often stuck, seemingly. I spent a lot of time thinking I had nothing and everything I did have was crap.

I didn’t appreciate anything, and now I deeply appreciate everything. Everything I once considered a waste, I now cherish as part of my history in this life. Looking back on it, I don’t really recognize that person.

I hope that for the people who are “stuck” right now, they do come to a place in their lives where they look back and see that everything happened for a reason. It is the most incredible warm and fuzzy feeling I have ever experienced. Like deja vu but on a cloud.

Find something to be grateful for everyday, kids and parents both should get in on that, together! Teach them early to appreciate anything and everything, no matter how small. Especially the small things!

A forest isn’t built up of one tree. It is several, numerous trees that makes it so!

 

2 thoughts on “Confessions

  1. I understand what you mean. It would be easy to look back at all the bad moments of our life and wish we could go back and change them, and I’ve had some humdingers. But if they didn’t happen where would I be today? What did I learn then, that has helped me today? These times in my life are what made me who I am and wouldn’t want to change that. One of my sisters told me a years ago that she wished nothing in her life changed. She would be happy if she could just stay in her house and not have to deal with anything And who needed friends? She just wanted to be alone. Today she is a miserable person and spends her life being a victim. I tried to talk to her, gave her a book of guidances. It seemed like she was listening, until she took back a mentally abusive husband. Now she won’t talk to me. I am so very grateful with so much appreciation for all the people since i was 19 who told me about NB until I listened – and my mother listened, and I see the life in her, the happiness and the youthful spirit, and she is 83. If I had to go through the mistakes in my life to get to where I am now . . .well, I think you know exactly what I mean.

    Like

  2. hellomamabird says:

    I am very sorry to hear about your sister. Especially when it is family who suffers, it is the worst. Its hard to be totally happy when the ones we love are not. I am glad you found that your path was your path, I hope your sister finds a way out of that suffering.

    Like

Leave a Reply

