Change to Save the Change

Wednesday! The last Wednesday of January 2017. What? Yes, there is only one week left until February. January was a month full of lessons learned for me. I will be very honest here. When I was in my younger day and working full time, I did not know how to budget or how to save money.

Here I am, 28 years old, turns out I still do not know how to budget or save money. I learned this the super hard way by being THIS close (how else do you show that gesture) to not being able to pay for my son’s school tuition next month.

(Thankfully I get to tell my husband that after 2 sales in the Etsy shop, I WILL be able to pay this month!)

Before that, I already told my husband I was short and he assured me not to worry, it would get paid. But I felt so disappointed in myself that I wasn’t paying attention. That I did not keep better track of my balance. I was even closer to over drafting people. I felt the same way I did when I was working full time and living pay check to pay check. Being scared to open utility bills and avoiding phone calls.

But this time it is not just me I am working for.

It is for my son. My son LOVES school. He is really thriving in it. His teachers love him, some moms tell me that their kids talk about my kid all the time at home. He has friends, he loves the activities they do.

It is a Methodist Preschool and my son has come home praying and with little Jesus figures, most beloved is his baby Jesus made out of a sock. He carries it with him around the house.

That said, my husband and I are not too classicly religious. He was raised Catholic and now is an Athiest and I am Buddhist. So I have looked other schools that are more academic based than a religion based.

And in my research it occurred to me if I had trouble saving the tuition for his school now, I would definitely have trouble saving the tuition of other schools because, holy crap, they are expensive.

Odds are, we will keep him in this school. Because he loves his teachers, and he loves his friends. AND I would like him to learn about other religions so that when he is old he can make it own choices.

But still, that doesn’t take away from I need to get my butt in gear about this money karma I have. I need to stay on top of myself.

So if you have any awesome, proven to work money saving tips, please share them in the comments below! 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

